Artists A-DArtists E-HArtists I-LArtists M-PArtists Q-TArtists U-Z
CARR-HARRIS, IAN: Complete BibliographyCARR-HARRIS, IAN: Writings about his own artCARR-HARRIS, IAN: Writings about art (general, theory, criticism)CARR-HARRIS, IAN: Catalogue essaysCARR-HARRIS, IAN: Exhibition, art gallery, artist reviews and articlesCARR-HARRIS, IAN: Interviews of other artistsCARR-HARRIS, IAN: Writings on miscellaneous subjectsCARR-HARRIS, IAN: Exhibition Catalogues
Adam, PeggyAdams, AnselAi, WeiweiBalfour, Helen GiffordBiddle, GeorgeBorduas, Paul-ÉmileCarr, EmilyCarr-Harris, Ian RedfordClark, ParaskevaDoucet, JulieDiamond, Sara - MAIN
Fung, RichardGarnet, EldonHoolboom, MichaelHouseholder, Johanna
Jackson, Alexander Young (Jackson, A. Y.)Kane, PaulKurelek, William
CanadaChinaFranceThailandUnited States
Maskegon-Iskwew, AhasiwMcCarthy, Doris JeanPage, P. K. (exhibited as Irwin, P. K.)Paterson, Nancy
Tiravanija, Rirkrit
AutobiographyAbout their own artArtist as interviewerArtist as intervieweeGeneral topics in artCatalogue essays (for other artists' exhibition catalogues)Art-related reviews (of artists, exhibitions, galleries)Literary reviewsFilm reviewsTravel narrativesLetters/correspondenceHistoryPoetryFictional ProseGraphic novels / ComicsIllustrated children's literatureCookbooksSchool publicationCultural heritageMiscellaneous subjectsExhibition catalogues
GARNET, ELDON: Complete BibliographyGARNET, ELDON: Writings about art (general, theory, criticism)GARNET, ELDON: Reviews of artists and exhibitionsGARNET, ELDON: Catalogue essayGARNET, ELDON: Interviews of other artists, writers, singersGARNET, ELDON: Narrative Prose (novels and short prose)GARNET, ELDON: PoetryGARNET, ELDON: Writings about poetry and literatureGARNET, ELDON: Writings on miscellaneous subjectsGARNET, ELDON: Film ReviewsGARNET, ELDON: Exhibition CataloguesGARNET, ELDON: Editor of poetry anthologies & arts magazine
KURELEK, WILLIAM: Complete BibliographyKURELEK, WILLIAM: Illustrated children's literatureKURELEK, WILLIAM: AutobiographyKURELEK, WILLIAM: InterviewsKURELEK, WILLIAM: Writings about his own artKURELEK, WILLIAM: Writings about cultural heritage & CanadaKURELEK, WILLIAM: Travel narrativesKURELEK, WILLIAM: Exhibition Catalogues
MCCARTHY, DORIS JEAN: Complete BibliographyMCCARTHY, DORIS JEAN: AutobiographyMCCARTHY, DORIS JEAN: Writings about her own artMCCARTHY, DORIS JEAN: Writings about other artistsMCCARTHY, DORIS JEAN: Writings on miscellaneous subjectMCCARTHY, DORIS JEAN: Exhibition Catalogues
TIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Complete BibliographyTIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Writings about his own artTIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: InterviewsTIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Writings about art (general, criticism)TIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Writings about and interviews of other artistsTIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Catalogue essaysTIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Writings on miscellaneous subjectsTIRAVANIJA, RIRKRIT: Exhibition Catalogues
PAGE, P.K.: Complete BibliographyPAGE, P.K.: Non-Fiction ProsePAGE, P.K.: Writings about art and artistsPAGE, P.K.: Catalogue essayPAGE, P.K.: Interviews of artistsPAGE, P.K.: AutobiographyPAGE, P.K.: Fictional ProsePAGE, P.K.: PoetryPAGE, P.K.: Children's literaturePAGE, P.K.: ScriptsPAGE, P.K.: Texts set to musicPAGE, P.K.: Exhibition CataloguesPAGE, P.K.: Editor of poetry monograph
AI, WEIWEI: Complete BibliographyAI, WEIWEI: AutobiographyAI, WEIWEI: Writings about his own artAI, WEIWEI: Interviews about his own artAI, WEIWEI: Writings about art (general)AI, WEIWEI: Interviews about art (general)AI, WEIWEI: Writings about artists & exhibitionsAI, WEIWEI: Catalogue essaysAI, WEIWEI: Ai interviews other artistsAI, WEIWEI: Writings about politicsAI, WEIWEI: Interviews about politicsAI, WEIWEI: Exhibition Catalogues
JACKSON, A.Y.: Complete BibliographyJACKSON, A.Y.: AutobiographyJACKSON, A.Y.: Writings about his own artJACKSON, A.Y.: Writings about other artistsJACKSON, A.Y.: Interviews about his own art & about other artistsJACKSON, A.Y.: Catalogue essaysJACKSON, A.Y.: Writings about art (general, various topics)JACKSON, A.Y.: Writings about history (war)JACKSON, A.Y.: Writings about Canadian landscape & peoplesJACKSON, A.Y.: Travel narratives / DiariesJACKSON, A.Y.: Letters (correspondence)JACKSON, A.Y.: PoetryJACKSON, A.Y.: Exhibition cataloguesJACKSON, A.Y.: Writings on miscellaneous subjects
ADAMS, ANSEL: Complete BibliographyADAMS, ANSEL: Autobiography & LettersADAMS, ANSEL: Writings & interviews about his own artWritings about photography (general, technique, technical manuals)ADAMS, ANSEL: Writings about other photographers & exhibitionsADAMS, ANSEL: Writings about historyADAMS, ANSEL: Writings about the environment (nature, conservation)ADAMS, ANSEL: Children's literatureADAMS, ANSEL: Writings - topics unknownADAMS, ANSEL: Exhibition catalogues & Photography books
BIDDLE, GEORGE: Complete BibliographyBIDDLE, GEORGE: Writings and interviews about his own artBIDDLE, GEORGE: Writings about art (general, various topics especially government & art)BIDDLE, GEORGE: Writings and reviews about other artists, exhibitions, writersBIDDLE, GEORGE: Memoir (autobiography) & Letters (correspondence)BIDDLE, GEORGE: Travel narrative (diaries, cultural observations)BIDDLE, GEORGE: Writings about history (war)BIDDLE, GEORGE: Illustrated children’s literatureBIDDLE, GEORGE: Exhibition catalogues
PATERSON, NANCY: Complete BibliographyPATERSON, NANCY: Writings and interviews about her own artPATERSON, NANCY: Writings about art (general, various topics)PATERSON, NANCY: Writings about media studies & critical theoryPATERSON, NANCY: Writings about other artists and exhibitionsPATERSON, NANCY: Prose FictionPATERSON, NANCY: Exhibition catalogues & Video works
Complete BibliographyAutobiography
CARR, EMILY: Complete BibliographyCARR, EMILY: AutobiographyCARR, EMILY: Writings about her own artCARR, EMILY: Writings about art (general, various topics)CARR, EMILY: Letters (correspondence)CARR, EMILY: JournalsCARR, EMILY: Travel narrativesCARR, EMILY: PoetryCARR, EMILY: Illustrated written worksCARR, EMILY: Writings about animals and natureCARR, EMILY: Exhibition catalogues
DOUCET, JULIE: Complete BibliographyDOUCET, JULIE: AutobiographyDOUCET, JULIE: Interviews about her own art & general topics in artDOUCET, JULIE: Non-autobiographical works (graphic novels, engravings)DOUCET, JULIE: PoetryDOUCET, JULIE: Artist's BooksDOUCET, JULIE: Exhibition catalogues & list of exhibitions
HOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Complete BibliographyHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: AutobiographyHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Writings about his own filmsHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Writings about visual artsHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Writings about other filmmakers, films, writers, exhibitionsHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Catalogue essaysHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: InterviewsHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Fictional proseHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Writings about miscellaneous topicsHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Hoolboom as EditorHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Hoolboom as CuratorHOOLBOOM, MICHAEL: Media Works & Exhibition Catalogues
KANE, PAUL: Complete BibliographyKANE, PAUL: Writings about his own artKANE, PAUL: Travel narratives (journals)KANE, PAUL: Writings about Canadian landscape and First NationsKANE, PAUL: Exhibition Catalogues
BORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Complete BibliographyBORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Writings & Interviews about his own artBORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Writings about art (general, various topics)BORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Writings about other artistsBORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: AutobiographyBORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Letters & JournalsBORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Writings about politicsBORDUAS, PAUL-EMILE: Exhibition catalogues
CLARK, PARASKEVA: Complete BibliographyCLARK, PARASKEVA: Writings & Interviews about her own artCLARK, PARASKEVA: Writings about art (general, various topics)CLARK, PARASKEVA: Writings about miscellaneous topicsCLARK, PARASKEVA: Exhibition catalogues
MASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Complete BibliographyMASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Writings about visual arts & media studies (general, various topics)MASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Writings about other artists & their workMASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Catalogue essayMASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Interviews about his own work, art & history topicsMASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: FictionMASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Ahasiw as Editor & CuratorMASKEGON-ISKWEW, AHASIW: Exhibition catalogues & Media works
HOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Complete BibliographyHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Writings and interviews about her own artHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Writings & presentations about performance art (general, various topics)HOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Writings about other artists & reviews of performance artHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Catalogue essaysHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Writings about teachingHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Performance script and recipeHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Book reviewHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: As Editor and CuratorHOUSEHOLDER, JOHANNA: Performance works & Exhibition catalogues
BALFOUR, HELEN GIFFORD: Complete BibliographyBALFOUR, HELEN GIFFORD: PoetryBALFOUR, HELEN GIFFORD: Miscellaneous proseBALFOUR, HELEN GIFFORD: Illustration
ADAM, PEGGY: Complete BibliographyADAM, PEGGY: Writings & Interviews about her own artADAM, PEGGY: AutofictionADAM, PEGGY: Graphic novelsADAM, PEGGY: ComicsADAM, PEGGY: Illustrated children's literatureADAM, PEGGY: Illustrated works and Festival/Exhibitions
FUNG, RICHARD: Complete BibliographyFUNG, RICHARD: Writings about his own artFUNG, RICHARD: Writings about other artistsFUNG, RICHARD: Interviews with other artistsFUNG, RICHARD: Writings about art (general, various topics)FUNG, RICHARD: Writings on miscellaneous topics
Complete Bibliography
Complete Bibliography
Complete Bibliography
Complete Bibliography
DIAMOND, SARA: Complete BibliographyDIAMOND, SARA: Writings about her own artDIAMOND, SARA: Interviews of other artistsDIAMOND, SARA: Writings about other artists and exhibitionsDIAMOND, SARA: Catalogue essaysDIAMOND, SARA: Writings about art, digital media, design, art industry, art education (various topics)DIAMOND, SARA: Fiction/NonfictionDIAMOND, SARA: Writings on historyDIAMOND, SARA: Miscellaneous writings (feminism, politics, policy, informatics, culture, technology, data, health)DIAMOND, SARA: Exhibition catalogues & Video works
This is the "Home" page of the "Artists as Writers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Artists as Writers  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://ocad.libguides.com/artistsaswriters Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Scope of Artists as Writers Index

The scope of our project:

• This index includes a bibliography of published writings by artists, including fiction and non-fiction, from novels, children's literature, poetry, and autobiography to prose pieces about art theory, artist reviews, and other topics.

• This index also includes the artist's own exhibition catalogues, where further artist writings can sometimes be found. Exhibitions without catalogues (no published texts) have not been included, since this index seeks to document published materials.

• This index does not include any literature about artists (biography, historical survey) or illustrated monographs that may happen to include the artist's artworks and information about the artist. Our scope determines that this index seeks to provide a bibliography of writings by the artist themselves, not writings by others about the artists and/or their artwork.

• This index does not include archival (unpublished) materials.

Who's included?

• While this project was inspired by artists' autobiographies, as the project progressed, it was decided to narrow the scope and focus on contemporary (19th century to present) Canadian artists (with an emphasis on those affiliated with the Ontario College of Art & Design (OCAD) University). The non-Canadian artist entries have remained as examples if the project expands to an international scope in the future. 

Please note that this index is a work in progress and therefore is not a comprehensive representation of contemporary Canadian artists with OCAD affiliation (yet!) 

Many more entries of artists who are/were students, graduates, and faculty of OCAD are to be added in the near future.

Please check back soon and thank you for your interest!
 

 

Suggest an Artist

Suggest a contemporary Canadian artist!

Email us or leave us your suggestion in a comment below.

We will take all suggestions into consideration.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip